I DO KNOT KNIT, IT PUTS ME IN NOTS

 

I tried to learn to knit once,
but I felt as awkward as a football player
in charm school.
I held one knitting needle in my hand
and wedged the other one against my belly,
while clacking them together with knotted yarn.

With the two weapons and yarn twisting in my hands,
it wasn’t pretty.

Knitting is knot my gift,
and neither is cross stitch.
Or crocheting or tatting, come to think of it…

In Chapter 8 of Little House in the Big Woods,
Ma Ingalls was knitting socks.
Good for her.
We can buy socks now,
and buy them cheaper than the
wool yarn to knit them.

The assignment was
”Teach your child to knit and have them
knit a simple project such as a muffler.”

I know more about car mufflers
than knitted mufflers,
and would rather dig an Easter egg out of a tailpipe,
yea, I had to do that once,
than knot itchy yarn together.

Fortunately for me,
I have a sister-in-law, Nita, who loves to knit.

She can even knit with her eyes closed.

Other than accidentally knitting a baby sweater with one arm
for a baby with two arms,
yea, she did that once,
she makes beautiful things.
She has a blog, Pilgrim Purse and Poetry,
and an etsy shop, Pilgrim Purse, where she sells her
knitted and felted creations.

Knitting needles are her friend, they are my enemy.
Sometimes I tease her and misspell her name Knita,
she’s so good at knitting.

If you don’t want to teach knitting for this chapter,
you could just buy something from her and call it a day.

 

pikes 004

It’s a good thing she taught my daughter how to knit a few years ago.

Yea, so I’m not ashamed of counting this towards school this year.
I’m not that much of an over-achieving homeschool momma.
I’m a git ‘er dun kinda’ momma.

 

Sometimes a momma’s gotta’ do what a momma’s gotta’ do.
Sometimes mommas do too much,
especially homeschool moms.

Sometimes ya’ gotta’ let
good enough
be
good enough.

 

Always shooting for perfection drives the whole family crazy,
ruins spontaneity and makes people crabby.

This spoken from a woman who repented from keeping a linen closet
good enough for Martha Stewart.

ENOUGH!

I had to learn to loosen my rubber bands,
ya’ know ‘cuz they were always wound too tight?

(Like forgetting to post this blog yesterday,
and having to finish today
and not stressing about it?)

 

 

pikes 001

 Ma Ingalls knit socks for their family,
Beka was content to knit a few small scarves for our Build-A-Bear Monkeys.

 

And since I can’t offer any great advice about knitting,
I found an expert.

Knitting Daily will send you a free e-book,
give you access to a free pattern library,
and teach you how to Knit like Knita,
not like me.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “I DO KNOT KNIT, IT PUTS ME IN NOTS

  1. In Chapter 8 of Little House in the Big Woods,
    Ma Ingalls was knitting socks.
    Good for her.
    We can buy socks now,
    and buy them cheaper than the wool yarn to knit them.
    ~~~
    Haahahaha! You are a hoot!!

  2. Thanks Mindy. If you ever send people my way again, you can post the discount code: MOMMAMINDY.
    20% off entire purchase if Mindy sent you.
    It applies any time to all your friends.

Leave a Reply

