Orphans Wanted!

Often when I read about the Pony Express,
I wonder about the teens of today.
Would there be enough teenage boys to staff the venture?

Then, I remind myself that young men
have always craved adventure.
Today, there isn’t a west to tame,
but young men find things to jump out of,
jump onto, jump under and jump with.

They attach wheels, sails, skis or faster motors
to anything and everything so they can
jump and twist and reinvent the sport.

We live in a day and age of
EXTREME SPORTS
so all the thrill jockeys
can still find something new to conquer.

Maybe young men today aren’t so different, after all.

Pony Express 001

It’s an amazing time period and it was a thrilling adventure
for young men and our young country.

Pony Express founders

This is to show you the amazing work of  Cheryl Harness,
who makes history come alive with the power of story
and delightful illustrations.

I didn’t realize she was such a prolific author until I looked online.
We definitely will be using her books again!

Riding the Pony Express 001

A book that has been on our shelf for years and years.

Only 80 pages, so a good adventure read for a younger
boy who hasn’t quite fallen in love with reading yet.

This might entice him.

Landmark Pony Express 001

My mom and dad raised six kids with a wall full of books,
including the Landmark series.

As soon as I started having kids,
yes, before they could even read,
I started buying all the Landmark books I
found at garage sales and thrift stores.
I was thrilled that Mom and Dad donated their collection
to my bookshelf a few years into homeschooling.

pony-express-riders-wanted

The thrill of imminent death must have drawn some riders.

Probably the $25 drew others.

Like teenagers today,
I  imagine some just wanted to get away from home.

As a mom, the call for orphans always tugged at my heart.
Pretty sure I wouldn’t let my sons do this,
but  the thought of young men dying
with no mom to cry for them,
is just as hard to imagine.

I will never complain about the price of postage again.

Never.

I promise.

Poke a stick in my eye and everything.

image

If you still haven’t had enough adventure, check out the The Pony Express National Museum’s website.

Since the majority of us won’t be able to visit the museum in person,
feel free to take a video tour.

The drama and the history are exciting and for someone who already loves history,
anything Pony Express thrills me.

But, here’s the best part of the story.

The Bible 001

Each of the Pony Express riders were given a Bible.
Even though they traveled light, and often were required to kill their own food,
the founders considered the Bible important enough to be carried.

I have always been encouraged by the desire of these men
to honor the Lord with their business.
I like to wonder if any of those daring, rough young men
ever sat by their campfire at night,
gnawing at whatever animal they killed,
and read a few verses.

Did they look up at the night sky and ponder the Creator?

And if you’re wondering about anything else on this subject,
here’s a wonderful online list of all topics concerning the Pony Express.

Cheryl Harness gripped my heart with her conclusion,

“The brave young riders and their ponies helped to make a nation happen…
it’s the ponies and the daring young men who ride in our imagination.
When the wind is in the West,
listen for distant hoofbeats.

It’s the Pony Express.”

Can ya’ hear it?

3 thoughts on “Orphans Wanted!

  1. Awesome post, as usual. I didn’t not know they were each given a bible. That is so cool! I’m going to take the virtual tour of the museum tomorrow. Thanks for the link! We found an old book called, “We were there with the Pony Express” that they were giving away for free at the public library. It was written in 1956. Need to add that to our reading list!

  2. Thanks for posting. We started reading some today about The Pony Express. Didn’t know about them carrying the Bible. Very cool.

  3. Loved this post! I did not know that the Pony Express riders were given a Bible! You might be interested to know that I am now teaching science in a Christian school in Lincoln. I love it because I get to teach science through the lens of the Bible and CREATION!! No Big Bang, no evolution…just solid, Godly science. I’m wondering if your email is the same…would love to chat more. I have missed my blogger friends, but now that I am working, blogging has had to take a bit of a back, back, back seat! Love this blog!

Leave a Reply

