My Sweetie Pie Made a Pumpkin Pie

Little House in the Big Woods 001

Chapter 12

*****

 

We’d been having an unseasonably warm fall
and were spending
Every Moment Outside.

 

When my daughter invited Beka and I to a pumpkin patch
we dropped our books and headed out the door.

 

Sometimes you just gotta’ follow the sun,
especially since ya’ know once the rains come,
they don’t leave for a long, long, time.

 

Pumpkin Patch
We loved seeing fields full of pumpkins.

Although we call special outings for school
“field trips”
we rarely end up in a field.

This was a field field trip.

 

Rebekah at Pumpkin Patch

The kids loved running to and fro,
with every pumpkin they could lift  a possibility to take home.

 

 

Jana and Kids at Pumpkin Patch
My oldest daughter, Jana,
with her three Munchkins,
Brookelyn, Maddelyn and Brayden.

I found a handmade sign at a garage sale that says,
“Grandchildren are a reward for not killing your children”
but since it isn’t PC and some people don’t get
it’s a joke
I don’t display it.

But grandchildren are a reward.
After raising six kids with lotsa rules and nutrition and bedtimes,
I love having little people who depend on me for only
candy and toys.
That’s it.
My definition of Gwamma.

sunshine family 021

The pumpkin adventure wasn’t over.

The assignment only said “make Pumpkin Pie or stewed pumpkin.”
EEWWWWW.
Stewed pumpkin?
I think not.

To make sure we finished the project
and that Beka had success her first time making pie,
I opted for store bought piecrust and canned pumpkin.

Don’t tell my brothers.
Joel and Allan make amazing pie.
One Thanksgiving, Allan even brought his own rolling pin to Mom’s house
because he was in charge of making the pies.
Of course, my brothers make their own crusts,
use fresh pumpkin,
and yes, they are both single, as a matter of fact.

I don’t know why.

I am the black-sheep, pie-crust buying member of the family.
But not for long.

Pioneering Today: Faith and Home the Old Fashioned Way

Last week I read this beautiful book 
and it  inspired me to get back to my pioneer roots.
She has a simple pie-crust recipe Beka and I will be using
when we make our second pie.

It also is going to make my Christmas shopping a lot easier!
Wouldn’t this book look adorable in a basket
with a few vintage cookie cutters and a cookie mix in a canning jar?

 

sunshine family 025
We held prayer meeting in our home that evening,
so Beka got to shine serving her delicious pies as the snack.

I love to give my kids moments like these!

 

 

sunshine family 030
It tasted even better than it looks.
We had it for breakfast the next morning, too.

There was a little filling left, so we filled little graham cracker pie crusts.

They were also delicious.

 

 

pumpkin, grandparent dolls 209 

See that sweet little pie pumpkin in the middle of my fall display?

 

Hopefully, that will be in Beka’s second pie, too.
It just needs to hang around and look harvesty for awhile.

 

See that squash on the right? 
I bought it to try this recipe
from Melissa’s blog Pioneering Today,
but I bought the wrong kind. 
So, it will also sit as a decoration until I decide how I will cook it.

 

For those of you ambitious kitchen people here are some
pumpkin recipes from a blog called “Laura’s Sweet Memories.”

Farmer Boy Pumpkin Treat Squares

Farmer Boy Pumpkin Scones

Farmer Boy Pumpkin Bread

 

Anything is better than stewed pumpkins!


 

2 thoughts on “My Sweetie Pie Made a Pumpkin Pie

  1. That beautiful acorn squash on the far right is really yummy if you just halve it, scoop out the seeds and guts, put face down in a baking dish filled with about an inch of water, and bake at 375 for about 35 minutes or until soft. I sprinkle the inside with cinnamon, nutmeg, brown sugar, and little bit of butter. Yummy! And gorgeous pictures. Makes me want to be enrolled in your school.

  2. Yum! There is nothing better than pumpkin pie made with fresh pumpkin, homemade crust or no. I can’t believe how nice your weather has been. It has been snowing on and off here for 3 days! Definitely frost on the pumpkin around here 🙂

Leave a Reply

